Liking One’s Own Company

Having just returned from two months in Cyprus, I’m once again adjusting to enjoying my own company as I’ve no real friends at present here in Scotland.  I know I can take steps to meet people.

I really enjoy socializing but only with people I want to socialize with; I don’t like large groups of people.  One reason why I enjoy Cyprus is that I meet up with people I enjoy spending time with;  this mainly involves eating out, which I did a lot on this trip.  It helps that there is a good choice of restaurants, and prices are very reasonable.  So, I make the most of it when there.

However, all this changes when I return to Scotland.  Having recently moved  into a new flat which I’ve decorated and furnished to my own taste, I’m enjoying being back in it, back in  my own space, on my own.  I like being alone, doing what I want, when I want.  I’m basically a solitary person, but a happy one. One who likes to choose carefully  who they spend time with.

This entry was posted in disability, disabled expatriate, life, living abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment