On To Singapore and Beyond

OK, I sorted out replacement travellers cheques and passport in Kuala Lumpur on my return from Malacca.  This being done, I continued my travels to Singapore.  Mind you, with my enthusiasm for coach travel being curtailed after recent events, I took the train to Singapore.  This was yet another new destination for me. Now, I’m not sure how long I stayed, but I do remember that I enjoyed my time there.  As in Malaysia, I did enjoy the different foods that were on offer.  This is something I do remember!  Growing up in Nigeria, and being exposed to different international foods while there, opened me up to trying various types of food.  I do enjoy food and trying international cuisines. After my brief sojourn to Singapore, it was time to move on.  After the semester I spent in Australia in 1983, and having had such a good experience there, I was very keen to spend more time there!  With travelling from Singapore,  and not having been to Perth before, it was logical to fly to Perth first – which is what I did! Even better, I was upgraded on my flight to Perth.

Having spent about four months in Sydney in 1983 on a semester overseas program, I wanted to return to Sydney to spend some more time there.  I had had a really good time there in 1983.  En route I also wanted to stop off in Melbourne to visit some relatives.  This being my backpacking experience, I decided to travel across Australia by coach.  For those who know, the route includes a road which goes almost straight, for mile after mile, across the continent to Adelaide.  The trip from Perth to Adelaide takes a day or more by coach – fortunately, after my recent Malaysian experience, this trip was uneventful!  Although the scenery was rather monotonous, I did enjoy the feeling of going somewhere.  The added incentive was that I was returning to Sydney, which was, and is one of my very favourite places! I was so looking forward to spending some more  time there.

A particular  element of the trip was the landscapes you travel through – from the lush land around Perth; through the more arid landscape across the country; and then back into the more lush landscape in the south-eastern part of the country.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment